## ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT

## COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

HB 480 - St. Mary's County - County Plans - Public Sewerage Systems and Water Supply Systems

## **SUPPORT**

February 4, 2025

The Honorable Marc Korman, Chairman Environment and Transportation Committee Room 251, House Office Building 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

**RE:** HB 480 - St. Mary's County - County Plans - Public Sewerage Systems and Water Supply Systems

Dear Chairman Korman:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County <u>SUPPORT</u> House Bill 480 - St. Mary's County - County Plans - Public Sewerage Systems and Water Supply Systems which is being heard in the Environment and Transportation Committee.

Environmental Article § 9-506(a)(3) is uniquely applicable to St. Mary's County. It was enacted in 1991 in response to a perception that the St. Mary's County Metropolitan Commission was extending public water and sewer lines without sufficient oversight from the St. Mary's County Planning Commission. Its main operative effect is to require two public hearings – one before the Planning Commission and one before the Commissioners of St. Mary's County – for any amendment to our Comprehensive Water and Sewer Plan, no matter how minor.

Public hearings held before the Planning Commission under this statute have historically been sparsely attended, if attended by the public at all. Whatever the intention of the original proponents of this legislation, the current Planning Commission feels this statute, in the modern day, creates an unnecessarily burdensome delay and cost in current project review cycles. It unanimously recommended the Commissioners seek its repeal this legislative session. It is our understanding that repeal of § 9-506(a)(3) will still leave statewide requirements for a public hearing before the Commissioners before a CWSP amendment can be approved.

We request a favorable report on House Bill 480. We support the introduction of this legislation and believe it would benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. Thank you for your consideration as well as your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/tr T:/Consent/2025/013

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey

Delegate Matthew Morgan Delegate Brian Crosby

Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr.

Commissioner Eric Colvin Commissioner Michael Hewitt

Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow

David Weiskopf, County Administrator

David Yingling, Deputy County Administrator

Buffy Giddens, County Attorney

John Sterling Houser, Deputy County Attorney